top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKobe Liu

#DES 231 Future of X: Artefact

My topic is about the idea of future cities. In Assignment2, I collected a lot of information about the types and construction trend of future cities. I also paid attention to and learned a lot about the construction of future style. Therefore, in my Assignment3, I decided to use my imaginary model to show my future through the model diagram.



The future cities we live in will be divided into three main types: eco-city, sea city, and sky city. Among these futuristic urban styles, I am most interested in the design of maritime architecture. So I will start accumulating inspiration through Sketch.


My idea is to design a landmark building belonging to the maritime city, and demonstrate my core idea of the future maritime city architecture through this building.





Develop Process

Step1 Research and looking some inspirations


The Beauty of Green


Singapore's Changi Airport is known around the world for its visitor experience. In addition to typical shopping and dining facilities, its terminal is packed with attractions.


Forest Valley offers communal respites and other elements such as treetops, waterfalls, hedges, and mirror mazes that delight visitors, create a sense of wonder and discovery, and provide space for community building.




Symmetrical design graphics


Jewel is a large glass building measuring 135,700 square meters. Boasting a 131-foot-tall (40-meter-high) rain vortex through the doughnut-shaped structure, slightly off-centre, it's the world's tallest indoor waterfall, dropping seven stories from the eyeholes in the roof. The feature recycles rainwater to cool the interior and reuse it -- as well as providing the visual drama of seven stories of water falling cylindrical from the sky.



Green building materials


Covering 175 acres, Apple Park features more than 2.8 million square feet of office space, critical 17 megawatts of rooftop solar and separate on-site r&d facilities. Apple Park has the most advanced technology for all Internet applications, In Woven City, I'm more interested in a public visitor centre with an AUGMENTED reality experience and a city that will run on 100% renewable energy.




Step 2 Sketches


Good art definitely stimulates my desire to create, so I always use sketches to generate some initial ideas before any design. Sometimes I find new ideas in these sketches. I always explore and observe new designs, because that's where my desire and passion for creation lies. Through these simple shapes, I have found the shape of my future city.


  1. Start from some basic pattern.



2. Some material inspirations




Step 3 Prototype


Modeling is the most difficult part of the whole project I think. The software I used is 3dmax 2020 version. It took me 3 weeks to complete the model from draft to production to rendering. This is the final rendering. Graphic modeling of tortuous surfaces is the most difficult part of the model. It not only requires our understanding of spatial graphics but also how to use modeling software to realize our own ideas.



Finally, the way to learn modeling must be difficult, conquering and challenging difficulties, remember that practice makes perfect, no more than a few times, firmly master each skill. Frustration is one of the biggest enemies on the way to learning. Having a competitive spirit and receiving the right guidance will lead you to the top faster.






11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page